Rock & Roll Photography

Last weekend my girlfriends and I went to see the “Who Shot Rock & Roll” exhibit at the Annenberg Space for Photography. Very cool exhibit. One thing my friends and I noticed was the conspicuous lack of Annie Leibovitz’s work. We’re pretty sure there was some snubbing going on. (Either she snubbed them, or Annenberg snubbed her — maybe it was mutual snubbing.)

In any case, seeing all those images made me want to shoot a band. Lucky for me, one of my friends was playing at a club that very night with her band “The Coals.” When the universe is this strong with its hints, I try to listen.

And listen I did, for The Coals sounded GREAT, with their soulful, folksy, blues-y brand of rock. I especially love that the band had an accordion and an upright bass. Character and class, baby. These are my favorite shots from that night at the Dakota Lounge in Santa Monica.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

