Jazzed About Jazz

I recently learned that one of my friends has a dad who is a professional jazz saxophonist. How cool is that? I mean really.

Last night he performed with his band at Vitello’s in Studio City. I have to confess, I’m sometimes not big on jazz. It can sound all crazy and make me feel on edge. But I really enjoyed Mike Pedicin’s band. They were smooth and mellow, and then groovy and lively, and I completely “got” how people get so into hanging out at jazz clubs. And I would be remiss if I didn’t mention how riveting it is to watch jazz musicians perform live. It’s as though they are transported to another world – an intimate jazz world, and we get a peek.

One final note about Vitello’s – the music is definitely the draw. I thought the food was eh.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

